Geotagging

Ok then…

First Blog, gotta love it.

Right, thanks to Stumbleupon I came across this website: http://blog.rrdphoto.com/2008/08/geotagging-cincinnati-photowalk-with.html

It showed me a fantastic way I could enhance my hobby of taking pictures and my fascination of wireless technologies such as RFID and GPS.

The website was all about something called geotagging.

Wikipedia defines this as:

Geotagging is the process of adding geographical identification metadata to various media such as photographs, video, websites, or RSS feeds and is a form of geospatial metadata. These data usually consist of latitude and longitude coordinates, though they can also include altitude, bearing, accuracy data, and place names.

This allows me to take photos and have the position of WHERE I took the photo to be stored in the image and be seen in several locations such as Google Earth, Flickr, and Picasa.

I first tried geotagging by taking a “small” drive over to the Asda supermarket, which was approximately 25 miles away from my hometown of Bosham, West Sussex, UK; this was semi-successful due to having the default settings on Event_Logger on the TomTom.

However, this allowed me to see exactly how the technology would work, and it was just in time for my trip to Brighton the next day!

Check out the next blog entry to see how the Brighton day went!

Leave a Reply

