Having Public Folders as a startup folder in outlook.

I am an IT Engineer, and as such we use a Public Folder in Microsoft Outlook to recieve support emails from various people around the company.

I had searched and searched for methods in which I would be able to start the Public Folder that I am always using, without having a shortcut to the .xnk file directly (which also meant that you could not “recycle” the outlook client (aka, you could click on the shortcut twice, and it would open up two outlook clients).

Google wasn’t helping me much, and several people said you could not do this.

I then found the answer!

“C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE”  outlook:\\public%20folders\All%20Public%20Folders\IS\IT%20Support /recycle

This enables me to open the outlook client, it will go straight to the public folder (please note the “%20” instead of spaces, and also allowed me to use the “/recycle” switch so that I would not accidentally open two clients.

I know this has helped me. And I hope it will help you as well.

Further assistance: http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/Outlook/microsoft.public.outlook/2008-10/msg00062.html

Leave a Reply

